DSpace Repository

Higher Learning Commission (HLC/NCA)

Higher Learning Commission (HLC/NCA)


This collection consists of documentation and reports concerning accreditation for Oakland Community College. It features two organizations: the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA) and the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

Organized in 1895, the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA) was one of six regional accreditation bodies in the United States. The NCA served 19 states in the North Central region. The association carried out the functions of accreditation until 2001 where two independent corporations, still components of the association, were formed. The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) oversees higher education accreditation of degree-granting colleges and universities, where the Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement (CASI) accredits early childhood through secondary schools, adult-vocational, college preparatory, and non-degree granting post-secondary institutions. The Fall of 2014 began the dissolution of the NCA whose duties diminished to holding the Association’s property, including its name, trademarks and records. The HLC and CASI have become standalone organizations continuing to serve as accreditors. The HLC is now one of the six regional accreditors servicing the North Central region which encompasses 19 states.

Search DSpace


My Account

RSS Feeds